Meal Planning Monday – Cincinnati Chili

I don’t know about you but I have a busy week this week. Lots of deadlines. My house is a mess since my family has been sick for the past two weeks. (if you’re lucky enough to talk to me on the phone, you will hear my new voice that I wish would go away)

So needless to say I need a few easy meals this week. Easy clean up would be even better. Since it is cold out, I was thinking a crock pot meal. When I think of crock pots, the first thing that comes to my mind is…chili. I’m a pretty simple cook but I decided my dinner for Monday night will be Cincinnati Chili. For those of you who don’t know I lived near Cincinnati and worked in Cincinnati for 3 years. I made fun of the chili all the time. One weird thing about Cincinnati chili when you are in Cincinnati is they serve it over spaghetti. Yes spaghetti. You also order your chili as a “way”. A 3 way, 4 way, 5 way. You get the idea. I had to go onto Skyline Chili’s website to remember what that actually meant. A 3-way chili is spaghetti with chili and topped with cheese.

Ingredients:

Spice Mixture:

  • 5 whole allspice*
  • 5 whole cloves*
  • 1 bay leaf*

Chili:

  • 2 lbs. ground beef
  • 2 c. water
  • 1 (6 oz.) can tomato paste
  • 1 lg. onion, chopped
  • 2 tbsp. chili powder
  • 2 lg. cloves garlic (minced)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 red pepper, cracked
  • 2 tsp. unsweetened cocoa
  • 2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • kidney beans
  • hot cooked thin spaghetti
  • Chopped onions
  • Grated Cheddar cheese

Preparation:

Combine the whole spices and bay leaf in a garni bag or make a cheesecloth bag to hold them.Brown ground beef; transfer to crockpot; add water, tomato paste, chopped onion, chili powder, garlic, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, red pepper, cocoa, Worcestershire sauce, and the cheesecloth bag with spices. Cover and cook on LOW for 7 to 9 hours, adding the drained beans the last hour. Serve over hot cooked thin spaghetti and top with chopped onions and cheese. This sauce could be used for chili dogs. Makes about 6 cups.

Source of recipe is from about.com – here
I will be sure to let you know tomorrow how my family liked the recipe. I will be serving it with fresh bread and probably a little broccoli.